In this guide, we cover how to automatically remove people from your Facebook custom audience as soon as they unsubscribe from your email list.
This is to help you comply with the new European privacy laws that have come into effect.
This method works even for the custom audiences created with other tools besides ConnectAudience.
On the left-hand side of your screen, you will find the sidebar. Navigate to Audience Removal Rules.
This is where you set up your removal rules. In other words, you can set up a rule that follows, "If someone unsubscribes from my email list, they will be deleted from my custom audiences."
Enter a Rule Name. This will not be visible to the public, but will be used for your own reference so that you can recognize the rule later on.
Add your Facebook Ad account from the drop-down list in the Select Your Ad Account field.
Add in your autoresponder from the drop-down list in the Select Your Autoresponder field.
It's worth noting that this tool is still in beta, so not all autoresponders have been added just yet. Don't worry, because we are adding support for other autoresponders as fast as we can.
Next, select which email lists the rule should apply to--which email lists should be unsubscribed from to be deleted from a custom audience. This can be found in the "Remove prospects if they unsubscribe from this list" field.
Do note that only the people who unsubscribe from the lists you select will be removed from the custom audience. All people in lists you did not select will remain. This ensures that you have full control over your lists.
Once you are finished setting up the rule, save by clicking on the Start & Save This Removal Rule button.
ConnectAudience will then automatically check who has unsubscribed from these lists on a daily basis, ensuring that you're always up-to-date.
Once you've set up your rules, you will be able to see, under "Saved audience list removal rules (in the last 30 days)" the number of people who have been deleted in the last 30 days, as well as the number of people who have been deleted in total. You can only access the names of the people deleted over the last 30 days, as we will automatically delete them from the database 30 days after they unsubscribe.